itoldyouiwouldeatyou – Get Terrified | EP Review

itoldyouiwouldeatyou GT

Source: Album Artwork

Get Terrified is the new EP from UK indie punk collective itoldyouiwouldeatyou. Brought together from various parts of the country, the group consists of Ollie Greville (bass), Joey Ashworth (vocals), Josh See (guitar), Sean Westall (drums), Alexei Berrow (guitar), Holly Readman (vocals/samples) and Connor Freedman (keys). Over the last few years, and a handful of EPs and singles, they’ve gathered a small but loyal following which will only continue to grow with this new EP.

The EP in question consists of just four tracks, including new single ‘Get Terrified’two previously released singles and a remix of ‘Off Brand’, a track from the band’s previous EP I Am Not Your FaultThe title track starts out with gentle harmonies and twiddly guitars, before gradually building up to a crescendo of distorted guitar and yelled vocals. ‘Mourn’ follows a similar formula, until its explosive climax which sees itoldyouiwouldeatyou flirt with post-hardcore influences. ‘Divine Violence’ is the emotional highlight of the EP featuring intricate, atmospheric guitars that suggest math-rock or even post-rock influences.

The most intriguing aspect of this EP is the ghostly, electronic ‘Off Brand’ remix, a complete re-imagining that sounds almost like a dreamier version of CHVRCHES. Despite just being a remix, and not necessarily an indication of the direction itoldyouiwouldeatyou are heading in, this track certainly shows the versatility of the group and their ability to sound good regardless of genre. We’d definitely be interested in hearing more of their songs interpreted in this way.

Aside from the remix, the Get Terrified EP doesn’t offer much in the way of variety. However, what it does offer is an abundance of catchy hooks, pretty instrumentation and unpolished vocals which give the songs an authentic feel. Coupled with simple but honest lyrics, this helps add to the sincerity with which itoldyouiwouldeatyou address issues like gender identity, sexuality and mental health. This band have only recently appeared on our radar but we’re already sure they’re ones to keep an eye on. We’d be interested to hear how they’d develop their sound further across a full LP of songs, so let’s hope it won’t be too long before we get to hear from them again.

Our Rating

7 Rating

Release Date: 20th April 2018